Binge Eating

I’ve been a gobbler since I was nine years old, in third grade. I had a lot happen to me at that time. I lost a best friend to leukemia. I went through a hurricane that demolished our house and mostly everything around it. I had a teacher who loved to pick on me. She was MEAN. I got bit several times by a German Shepherd. Yeah, that time of my life sucked. So, I found solace in the cookie jar, where Mom stashed the best chocolate chip cookies ever invented: Nestle Toll House. Late night, when everyone was guaranteed to be asleep, was the best time for grabbing a few and sneaking them back into my bed. Mom would usually find crumbs the next morning. And, I certainly heard about my newly odd behavior.

Knowing that, I’ve come up with a list of 25 things I can do rather than binge eat. Here goes:

  1. Call a supportive friend.
  2. Take the dog for a long walk. (Pick up her poo, too, or the neighbors will complain to the Animal Rescue League–like one did last week.)
  3. Go for a swim.
  4. Meditate.
  5. Journal. (I’ve journaled since I was wee tall. I still have most of them.)
  6. Cry.
  7. Visit the neighbors.
  8. Take a drive.
  9. Read a book.
  10. Go to an inspiring movie.
  11. Pencil in a mandala.
  12. Crochet a washcloth.
  13. Paint the living room.
  14. Paint the basement floor.
  15. Take a nap or go to bed.
  16. Plan a vacation. (I’d like to go to Seattle next.)
  17. Write another post.
  18. Go on a photo safari.
  19. Add pins to my Pinterest board.
  20. Sew curtains. (I love to make simple curtains.)
  21. Learn the Argentine tango.
  22. Visit my smaller clothes.
  23. Drink tea.
  24. Plan ahead.
  25. Try a new hairdo.

If you’re interested in more ideas, here’s a great article: 101 Things To Do Rather Than Binge Eating.

Leave a Reply

